Now Then Disclaimer Rings eMail Guestbook Messageboard Notes Zoloft! (my LiveJournal) Timeline
My Happy Place My personal circle of hell Fun with Google hits Valerian 101 Profile Clix if you like my diary Wishlists WWVW? (What Would Valerian Wear?) Cast of characters Peektures

Back Forth

Valerian 101
Sunday, Sept. 23, 2001 - 1:30 a.m.

Stuff you probably didn't know (and probably don't care to know, now)

1. I was named after my grandmother (my real name, not the one I'm using now)

2. My parents were calling me by that name in the womb... Mom swears if I'd been born a boy, my middle name would have been "Cooper".

5. I hated my name growing up, because no one else at my school had the same name.

4. I have 1 brother who's 14 months older than I am, & a much older half-sister who I've seen once in my life & whose existence doesn't even register with me most of the time.

5. When I was very wee, I threw a fit because my brother went to the hospital for minor surgery, & I didn't get to. I didn't think it was fair that everyone in the family had had an operation except me.

6. Later, I threw a similar fit because my brother needed to get glasses & I didn't because I had 20/15 vision. Damn the luck.

7. I saw Star Wars in the theater, but we missed the beginning because my brother had slammed my head into a wall & we all had to go to the emergency room to get me stitched up on the way to the theater. My mom tried to convince me that stitches counted as "an operation" so I was even, now, but I didn't buy it.

8. I was born w/ a very minor birth defect that affected my speech (r's were especially problematic for me... "bird" was pronounced "board", no matter how hard I tried). After speech therapy, though, I now merely don't enunciate as clearly as I ought.

9. I knew (or at least met) all of my grandparents, but none of them are living now.

10. I played the lead role in 2 musicals in grade school, & was voted "most likely to star in a broadway play she wrote herself". Uh... yeah.

11. When I was in my early teens, my dad's house exploded when he opened the sliding glass door, causing 2nd & 3rd degree burns over something like 80% of his body. He didn't die until many months later.

12. I took 2 years of Latin in highschool.

13. I was a member of the Future Farmers of America in highschool (though I never had one of those swell corduroy jackets, because I couldn't afford one).

14. Throughout my schooling, my mom tried to convince my educators that I had a problem with math... but I was really good at taking standardized tests, so they kept insisting that she was wrong, & I was actually quite gifted at math.

15. On my SAT's, I scored in the 99th percentile on the verbal section, but only the 34th percentile in math.

16. Although I was always in gifted classes, I never saw much point in doing homework, & graduated highschool w/ a 2.5 GPA.

17. I went to a community college on a scholarship (which only required a minimum 2.5 GPA & 2 years in an agriculture class).

18. I was only at college for one year before my Humanities & Psychology teachers convinced me to quit, because I obviously didn't want to be there & was wasting my time & theirs.

19. MS was the first guy I slept with.

20. I've had sex with 5 guys (or 3, depending on how you define "sex"). 3 of those were one night stands.

21. I've been in a threesome (2 girls, 1 guy) once

22. My natural haircolor is brunette that bleaches to dirty blonde almost the instant it's touched by sun.

23. I've gone years without shaving my legs

24. I shave my arms.

25. Despite what you might assume by my appearance & the company I keep, I really don't like the Cure, Portishead, or Bjork

26. I drive an El Camino because it's been my dream car since highschool

27. I didn't learn to drive until I was nearly 19

28. I actually didn't start drinking until I was 21

30. I don't smoke... not even pot. I've tried, but I just can't do it.

31. My favorite fairytale is "The Master Cat" (that'd be "Puss in Boots" to those of you who aren't fairytale snobs).

32. When my brother learned to read, I stole his primer & taught myself how to read it by the light of my nightlight. I still remember the first few sentences: "The sun is up. Bing is up. Bing and Sandy are up." (Bing was a cat, Sandy a dog).

33. I generally don't like playing video games, but I was obsessed with Monster Rancher for the Play Station for quite some time. I've never played Monster Rancher II, though MS bought a copy almost as soon as it came out.

34. For several years, I thought I was bisexual. Then MS pointed out that I wasn't bi, I was just a voyeur, which almost offended me until I realized he was right.

35. I can eat jello with chopsticks

36. There are nekkid pix of me on the 'Net

37. I've had sushi w/ Neil Gaiman (though I doubt he'd remember me, now)

38. I breed model horses

39. I grind my teeth in my sleep. My teeth are worn quite strangely because of this.

40. I can't remember the last time I went to the dentist or to a regular doctor... but I've had yearly OB/GYN checkups since I was 19.

41. My mother had breast cancer 15 years ago, & metasticized bone cancer a few years back as well. She shows no interest in dying anytime soon.

42. My left thumbnail is darker than any of my other nails, due to faint brownish lines that grow in it. It's been that way forever.

43. I broke my right elbow when I was in gradeschool. I still can't bend that elbow quite as far as the other one.

44. My fingers are double-jointed

45. I read very quickly, but don't retain information very well. Partly because of this, I re-read my favorite books & re-watch my favorite movies repeatedly.

46. I can recite all of the dialogue in _Labyrinth_ & _The Last Unicorn_

47. I can draw, but I don't.

48. My artistic medium of choice is Crayon.

49. I had over 50 penpals when I was in highschool. I don't write to a single one of them anymore.

50. I love getting mail, but I'm absolutely abysmal at sending it.

51. Snapdragons are my favorite flower

52. My mom still has my cat from when I was a kid. She's about 18 years old, now. I wasn't allowed to take her with me when I moved because mom thought it would be too traumatic for the poor old thing.

53. I love Christmas, & decorate a Christmas tree every year (barring extreme circumstances... like, say, going crazy & fleeing the state)

54. The last time I went trick or treating was 2 or 3 years ago. Only 2 people said anything about my age, & they gave me candy, anyway.

55. The weirdest thing I ever got while trick or treating was a popsicle.

56. I absolutely will not give candy to trick or treaters if they're not wearing any sort of costume

57. Christmas & Hallowe'en are pretty much the only holidays I celebrate.

58. I watch very little TV... but there was a time when I thought Friends ought to be on more than twice a day.

59. I used to have a pet rat named Mouse

60. Sometimes I talk in my sleep. I've also been known to laugh.

61. Every once in awhile, I sleep with my eyes open.

62. When I still lived with my mom, I usually slept for 13 or 14 hours a day, because there was nothing better to do (dysthymic, much?)

63. I worked at McDonalds... for one night.

64. I don't cook

65. I won't clean the house if anyone else is home.

66. I'm not scared of spiders, snakes, roaches, or rodents.

67. I'm not exactly scared of monkeys, but they make me decidedly uneasy.

68. Marmosets, Curious George, & Monkey from Dexter's Lab don't count.

69. I'm a native Floridian

70. I'm pale enough that you can see veins underneath my skin. The last time I was at the beach, I was wearing a black t-shirt & black spandex leggings... and somebody asked me if I was wearing socks in the water. "No, those are my feet".

71. I know practically nothing about my dad's side of the family... but a ton about my mom's. I'm mostly German & Norwegian.

72. I was an A cup all through highschool. Sometime after I graduated, I magically became a large C.

73. I almost never argue with anyone about anything IRL, but I will debate a point in email until the other person either concedes that they understand my point or shuts up.

74. I created my first website in 1998, & haven't updated it since. It still averages about 100 hits a day.

75. I applied to work at a Winn Dixie supermarket when I still lived with my mom... but I failed the personality test.

76. I type about 40 words a minute, & don't look at the keys.

77. I know exactly what I would name a son & a daughter... but I'm never going to have children

78. I don't like "icky" movies. Horror movies with style & an element of fantasy (like, say, _Dracula_ or _Cemetary Man_) or over-the-top cheese (like anything by Herschell Gordon Lewis) is fine. I *really* don't enjoy realistic, graphic violence (like _Seven_). _In the Mouth of Madness_ gave me nightmares. I'm the same way about books.

79. When I was in highschool, I knew that I would always want to be in the mosh pit at concerts. Now I rarely even wish to be standing in the crowd on the floor.

80. I wasn't popular in school, but I wasn't loathed & hassled, either. I was mostly invisible.

81. I went stag to my senior prom. I bummed a ride w/ 2 couples. My mom insisted I wear pumps instead of combat boots, even though I had them laced w/ ribbons that matched my dress exactly.

82. The guitarist for Flock of Seagulls has seen me nekkid on several occaisions.

83. I never had an imaginary friend, but I had several imaginary horses. In highschool, I had imaginary boyfriends.

84. I own 5 decks of tarot cards, but I only ever do readings w/ one of them.

85. I compulsively buy cute little barettes & other hair accessories, & almost never wear any of them.

86. I have an antique lava lamp that I inherited from my grandmother.

87. I'm addicted to caffeine, but I don't drink coffee.

88. I make KoolAid w/ half the instructed amount of sugar.

89. I eat my fries dipped in my Frosty... but only at Wendy's.

90. I've never been on a diet.

91. I saw snow for the first time last December.

92. I'm taller than anyone else in my family.

93. I have so many clothes that I haven't worn all of them. Some of them I don't even remember buying.

94. I have a family history of breast cancer, alcoholism, bipolar disorder, depression, obesity, Lou Gherig's disease (sp?), diabetes, multiple sclerosis, and who knows what else.

95. I almost never wear shoes that leave my ankles exposed. I don't know why.

96. I never wear an outfit that exposes my legs in public. If I wear shorts or a skirt, I wear tights or leggings under them. I don't know why.

97. I love to watch bull riding

98. When I was in 3rd grade, I had debilitating headaches daily until I was transferred to gifted classes.

99. I dyed my pet rat green & made her wear reindeer horns made out of pipe-cleaners for Christmas one year.

100. I've always felt sorry for the kids who wear store-bought Hallowe'en costumes.

101. I still believe in God... just not necessarily the same one everyone else believes in.

Back Forth

Give a Clix, if you please.



midi lives in gloomcounty
midi came from Ravenswood Manor

That was so five minutes ago...
Just in case you thought I wasn't crazy, anymore... - Thursday, Jan. 30, 2003
Hiya! ::waves:: - Saturday, Nov. 16, 2002
New & improved home trephination kit... now with 50% more sequins! - Saturday, Jul. 27, 2002
slack, whine, & snot. A recipe for bitchiness. - Thursday, Jul. 11, 2002
Do you believe in time travel? - Saturday, Jul. 06, 2002

I see the moon,
Live Moon Phase Display
the moon sees me...

Obsessions du Jour
Music: Krishna Das
Printed Material: The Apocrypha
On Screen: Six Feet Under
Etc: Mary Magdalene
Virgin Mary
Kali Sara
Christo-Paganism

You can click these every day if you dig my diary.

I'm Arbitrary!

The Only Review that Matters

Get a free Tarot reading Interview! I'm reviewed! Propaganda graveyard Recommend my diary to a friend Browse other D-Land diaries Join the D-Land Aristocracy & tell 'em Valerian sent you! Hosted by Diaryland