Now Then Disclaimer Rings eMail Guestbook Messageboard Notes Zoloft! (my LiveJournal) Timeline
My Happy Place My personal circle of hell Fun with Google hits Valerian 101 Profile Clix if you like my diary Wishlists WWVW? (What Would Valerian Wear?) Cast of characters Peektures

Back Forth

Online Diaries 101
Friday, Aug. 24, 2001 - 1:14 a.m.

Right. Let's get a few things straight.

This is a diary. It's not about you, it's about me. It's not a record of the truth, it's a record of the way I feel.

Because this is a diary, it's not written for an audience. Yes, I know people read it, & I always keep that in the back of my mind and there are actually some things I *don't* write about because of it. However, when you get right down to it, this is an exercise in self-indulgence. I write this shit because I have to, because it helps me to get it out of my head where I can see it. It's not pre-meditated or polished or sacharin-coated for ease of consumption. Contrary to popular belief I don't write this a convenient way for friends & aquaintances to keep tabs on what's going on in my life &/or what I think of them without actually talking to me. Yes, you can get a pretty good idea what's going on in my life/head at any given time by reading my diary, but it's going to be an incomplete, impressionistic idea that might not resemble anyone else's version of the described events, & may or may not be relevant 5 minutes after it was written.

Welcome to Diaryland.

Go ahead & read my diary if you want, just remember that just because you've read my diary doesn't mean that you know me, or that you know what's happening to me. If you know me in real life, you may not want to read this diary at all. Apparently not everyone wants to hear what I think about them. I assure you, though, that this isn't my little passive-aggressive backstab-y land... anything I write here I'd say to your face, if you ask me (or better yet, in personal email... I'm much more articulate in writing).

So by all means, read it. But please remember that this is my personal diary that you're digging around in. Just because I'm sharing it with you people doesn't mean it's really fit for public consumption, or that it's not raw & completely egocentric. Remember that reading anybody's diary is a priveledge, not a right, & take some responsibility for your curiousity. No one's making you read this.

You may also want to refer to these other entries regarding the nature of this diary:

http://valerian.diaryland.com/reminder.html

http://valerian.diaryland.com/munication.html

http://valerian.diaryland.com/achtung.html

http://valerian.diaryland.com/001205_90.html

http://valerian.diaryland.com/010103_78.html

Now sod off & leave me the fuck alone, already.

Back Forth

Give a Clix, if you please.



midi lives in gloomcounty
midi came from Ravenswood Manor

That was so five minutes ago...
Just in case you thought I wasn't crazy, anymore... - Thursday, Jan. 30, 2003
Hiya! ::waves:: - Saturday, Nov. 16, 2002
New & improved home trephination kit... now with 50% more sequins! - Saturday, Jul. 27, 2002
slack, whine, & snot. A recipe for bitchiness. - Thursday, Jul. 11, 2002
Do you believe in time travel? - Saturday, Jul. 06, 2002

I see the moon,
Live Moon Phase Display
the moon sees me...

Obsessions du Jour
Music: Krishna Das
Printed Material: The Apocrypha
On Screen: Six Feet Under
Etc: Mary Magdalene
Virgin Mary
Kali Sara
Christo-Paganism

You can click these every day if you dig my diary.

I'm Arbitrary!

The Only Review that Matters

Get a free Tarot reading Interview! I'm reviewed! Propaganda graveyard Recommend my diary to a friend Browse other D-Land diaries Join the D-Land Aristocracy & tell 'em Valerian sent you! Hosted by Diaryland