Now Then Disclaimer Rings eMail Guestbook Messageboard Notes Zoloft! (my LiveJournal) Timeline
My Happy Place My personal circle of hell Fun with Google hits Valerian 101 Profile Clix if you like my diary Wishlists WWVW? (What Would Valerian Wear?) Cast of characters Peektures

Back Forth

Do you believe in time travel?
Saturday, Jul. 06, 2002 - 1:38 a.m.

Watched _Donnie Darko_ tonight. The Squeezy didn't seem to like it (at least, not the ending). It took me awhile to get my head around it, but that usually heralds a really outstandingly enjoyable movie in my world.

Notice on my profile that Donnie Darko has bumped Moll Flanders out of the coveted top 5.

Now, I admit that it seemed like there was a bit that they sortof forgot to include in the movie. A lot of loose ends were tied up & the entire concept explained at the Official Website, & I would have happily sat through another hour of movie-watching if they'd somehow managed to fit that info into the film.

Still. It's a very pretty piece of work that I'm pro'lly going to be quite obsessed with for some time.

I just caught myself wondering if Frank was portrayed as a rabbit for a reason. I mean, was Richard Kelly consciously trying to play on the archetype of rabbit-as-messenger or symbolic of rebirth, or if his being a rabbit instead of a chicken or puppy or something was just a happy Cambell-esque accident.

Then I realized how ecstatic my high school & college English teachers would be if they knew I was assuming that there was some deeper meaning behind something, even if unintentional on the part of the author. God knows I was one of the most vociferous whiners over many a critical essay. "What's the point? How do we know what the author had in mind? What if he didn't mean that at all?"

So. I may not have had particularly good grades after junior high, I may have rarely made the honor role, & dropped out of college after the first year, but apparently I did learn at least one important lesson: I've figured out how to think for myself. I like research & learning stuff. Looking back, I may have been bored to tears by the choice of subject matter that was foisted upon me in school, but it was all just practice.

And it sounds awful, but I'm the age I am, glad I went to school when I did. The local school system certainly wasn't the best, but I don't think it failed me, either... and I'm not sure many of the kids graduating nowadays can say that.

Summed up beautifully in Donnie Darko:

"I'm afraid I can't continue this conversation."

"Why not?"

::sigh:: "Because I could lose my job."

IOW, I can't encourage you to research/learn/think about anything that may be seen as radical/unwholesome/innapropriate. I'm not allowed to actually teach you anything. You're not supposed to think, you're supposed to memorize useless crap & get used to being a good little consumer/corporate slave.

Add that to the list of "A Million and One Reasons Valerian Will Never Bear Children". I lack the motivation to homeschool, & wouldn't trust anyone else to do it.

Oh, & just in case anyone cares... I've started updating my LiveJournal fairly often, with mostly fluffy "what I did today" sort of stuff. So, if you want to keep tabs on what I'm up to, check it out. I'll still be updating here, too, just not every day... so if you're mostly interested in my slightly more thoughtful rants & musings, just be patient... I'll try to dig up some angst for you semi-regularly. :D

I should really go to bed (should've gone to bed hours ago... I'm exhausted), but the special features on the DD DVD are calling to me...

Back Forth

Give a Clix, if you please.



midi lives in gloomcounty
midi came from Ravenswood Manor

That was so five minutes ago...
Just in case you thought I wasn't crazy, anymore... - Thursday, Jan. 30, 2003
Hiya! ::waves:: - Saturday, Nov. 16, 2002
New & improved home trephination kit... now with 50% more sequins! - Saturday, Jul. 27, 2002
slack, whine, & snot. A recipe for bitchiness. - Thursday, Jul. 11, 2002
Do you believe in time travel? - Saturday, Jul. 06, 2002

I see the moon,
Live Moon Phase Display
the moon sees me...

Obsessions du Jour
Music: Krishna Das
Printed Material: The Apocrypha
On Screen: Six Feet Under
Etc: Mary Magdalene
Virgin Mary
Kali Sara
Christo-Paganism

You can click these every day if you dig my diary.

I'm Arbitrary!

The Only Review that Matters

Get a free Tarot reading Interview! I'm reviewed! Propaganda graveyard Recommend my diary to a friend Browse other D-Land diaries Join the D-Land Aristocracy & tell 'em Valerian sent you! Hosted by Diaryland