Now Then Disclaimer Rings eMail Guestbook Messageboard Notes Zoloft! (my LiveJournal) Timeline
My Happy Place My personal circle of hell Fun with Google hits Valerian 101 Profile Clix if you like my diary Wishlists WWVW? (What Would Valerian Wear?) Cast of characters Peektures

Back Forth

Beehive Lady in training
2001-03-15 - 05:33:06

I'm getting older.

I know, I know... we all are. But I'm starting to be able to look at myself and notice signs of aging. Nothing major, mind... probably nothing anybody but me would notice. But I think I'm to the point where I've plateaud, & have begun the slow decline.

Looking at myself in the mirror, I asked myself how much longer I was going to be able to get away with dressing like I do, & wearing my hair & makeup the way I do. How long am I going to be viewed as being "eccentric & cute" before I make the progression to "not quite right" to "downright disturbed & ludicrous"?

Then I remembered the Beehive Lady.

The Beehive Lady has been one of the best things about living in this area. I catch glimpses of her, every once in awhile, always late at night at Wal-Mart or a grocery store. She's not a small woman, though she's not tall, either... one of those people that gives you the impression of being almost perfectly round... and she's got to be at least 60. She always wears an opera cape, no matter what the weather, with her arms poking through the little holes in the sides (I've seen her in at least 3 different capes, too: navy blue, red, & purple). Her makeup looks like it was designed by a small child who hadn't learned about that whole "coloring in the lines" thing, yet: all crayon-y black racoon eyes & generously & inexpertly-applied pink lipstick. Her crowning glory, however, her namesake, is the towering majesty of her beehive hairdo. Her hair is always in a beehive, always. It always sits just a little bit askew, though, which led to to believe originally that it was a wig. Upon further viewings, however, I've noticed grey mixed in with the dark hair, and where in the hell would you get a beehive wig, anyway?

I love the Beehive Lady. A Beehive Lady spotting will make me giddy for the rest of the night, at least. I've never even spoken to her (except for one particularly memorable night in a grocery store when she asked me if I knew where they kept the safety pins), but she's one of my favorite people, anywhere, ever. She's just so totally... the Beehive Lady... and obviously doesn't give a damn what anybody else thinks about it, Thank You Very Much.

Someday, I will be the Beehive Lady.

Back Forth

Give a Clix, if you please.



midi lives in gloomcounty
midi came from Ravenswood Manor

That was so five minutes ago...
Just in case you thought I wasn't crazy, anymore... - Thursday, Jan. 30, 2003
Hiya! ::waves:: - Saturday, Nov. 16, 2002
New & improved home trephination kit... now with 50% more sequins! - Saturday, Jul. 27, 2002
slack, whine, & snot. A recipe for bitchiness. - Thursday, Jul. 11, 2002
Do you believe in time travel? - Saturday, Jul. 06, 2002

I see the moon,
Live Moon Phase Display
the moon sees me...

Obsessions du Jour
Music: Krishna Das
Printed Material: The Apocrypha
On Screen: Six Feet Under
Etc: Mary Magdalene
Virgin Mary
Kali Sara
Christo-Paganism

You can click these every day if you dig my diary.

I'm Arbitrary!

The Only Review that Matters

Get a free Tarot reading Interview! I'm reviewed! Propaganda graveyard Recommend my diary to a friend Browse other D-Land diaries Join the D-Land Aristocracy & tell 'em Valerian sent you! Hosted by Diaryland